Strategic Advisory Board

Mr. Bill Sembo - Chair

Bill Sembo is the Chair of the Strategic Advisory Board for the Snyder Institute for Chronic Diseases at UCalgary’s Cumming School of Medicine. He holds a Bachelor of Arts in Economics from the University of Calgary. In addition to his long career in energy investment banking, Mr. Sembo has been a tireless healthcare volunteer and philanthropist for many years, and was chair of the Calgary Health Foundation from 2016 to 2020.

Ms. Irene Bakker

Irene Bakker is the Honorary Consul of the Netherlands in southern Alberta, and President of Netherlands Investment Company of Canada Ltd. An active and dedicated volunteer, Ms. Bakker is also Board President of the Mountainview Festival of Song and Chamber Music Society in Calgary.

Mr. Matthew Brister

In addition to his valued work on the Strategic Advisory Board for the Snyder Institute for Chronic Diseases, Matt Brister also serves on the Cumming School of Medicine’s Dean’s Advisory Board. He holds a Bachelor of Science in Geology from the University of Calgary and is a registered Professional Geologist in the Province of Alberta. Mr. Brister has been CEO, Board Chair and Director of a number of energy companies throughout his career. He is a passionate healthcare and education volunteer and philanthropist.

Mr. Don Brownie

Don Brownie holds a Bachelor of Arts in Economics from the University of Calgary. In addition to his career in consulting, Mr. Brownie was the Executive Director of the Calgary Transportation Authority, President and CEO of the Calgary Economic Development Authority, and a Board Member of the Calgary Airport Authority, which he helped establish. He is a founding Board Member of the Van Horne Institute.

Mr. Harvey Doerr

Harvey Doerr is a professional engineer who was raised and educated in Alberta and worked in the energy industry both in Canada and United States. His working career saw him assigned to roles of increasing responsibility at Hudson’s Bay Oil and Gas, Husky Energy, and ultimately Murphy Oil. After retiring as a senior executive from Murphy in 2009, Harvey continued his career as a professional director, serving a number of public, private and not-for-profit organizations. From 2012 until 2018 he was a board member of Crohn’s and Colitis Canada, and he was elected Chair for the last two years of his time there. Harvey earned a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Alberta, completed the Advanced Management Program at Harvard Business School and holds the ICD.D designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors.

Dr. Marvin Fritzler, MD, PhD

Dr. Marvin Fritzler, PhD, MD, FRCP(C), is a professor in the Cumming School of Medicine at the University of Calgary where he was the Founder of MitogenDx Laboratory. His clinical practice and research has focused on rheumatic and autoimmune diseases. Dr. Fritzler has published more than 500 peer-reviewed manuscripts and his work has been cited more than 30,000 times. In 2001 he was appointed to the Government of Alberta’s science, technology and innovation policy and strategy board and from 2005 to 2010 served as the Chair of the Alberta Research and Innovation Authority. He has received many awards for his outstanding contributions to laboratory immunology, and is an active and dedicated healthcare volunteer.

Ms. Patricia Moore

Patricia Moore is a lifelong Calgarian, a former teacher, and an Officer of the Order of Canada. Ms. Moore has served as Board Chair of the Calgary Library Foundation, in addition to working with the Calgary Zoo Foundation, the Banff Centre and many other organizations throughout her enduring community involvement as a dedicated and hands-on volunteer and philanthropist.

Mr. Stuart O'Connor

Stuart O’Connor is a businessman, entrepreneur, ranch-hand, lawyer, and engineer who is currently the executive chair and co-founder of Arcurve Inc., a full-service technology, advisory and software development company. A dedicated and energetic community member, Stuart is the past-Chair of Hull Services and serves on the Board of Directors of the Calgary Stampede and Beakerhead Creative Society. He is on the Advisory Roundtable for The Platform Innovation Centre, a hub dedicated to supporting start-ups and entrepreneurs at all stages of their journey. Stuart was the President of Merak Projects Ltd., an international software company; a former Partner at Bennet Jones, a national law firm; the Chairman of Flint Energy Services Ltd. and a co-founder of various other companies in oil and gas, financing, and real estate.