Inflammation Research Network (IRN)

The Inflammation Research Network (IRN) is a group of basic and clinical investigators, located in the Snyder Institute at UCalgary's Cumming School of Medicine and the Faculty of Science. The group spans a number of disciplines and covers all aspects of molecular to clinical research, all with a common focus on inflammatory disease.


Dr. Simon Hirota
Chair, Inflammation Research Network
HSC 1845
Email / Phone: 403.210.7888

Dr. Christophe Altier
Co-Chair, Inflammation Research Network
HSC 1665
Email / Phone: 403.220.7549

Barbara Chyz
Administrative Assistant
HSC 1663
Email / Phone: 403.220.4555

IRN Group

  • Christophe Altier 
    Associate Professor
  • Marie-Claire Arrieta 
    Assistant Professor
  • Paul Beck 
  • Andre Buret 
    Professor & Associate Vice-President (Research)
  • Kris Chadee 
  • Eduardo Cobo
    Assistant Professor
  • Jose Geraldo Ferraz 
    Clinical Associate Professor
  • Markus Geuking 
    Assistant Professor
  • Simon Hirota 
    Associate Professor
  • Morley Hollenberg  
  • Humberto Jijon 
    Clinical Assistant Professor
  • Shan Liao
    Associate Professor
  • Wallace MacNaughton 
  • Kathy McCoy 
  • Braedon McDonald 
    Assistant Professor
  • Jason McDougall 
    Professor, Dalhousie University, Halifax
  • Derek McKay 
  • Marcelo Muscara 
    Associate Professor, University of Sao Paolo, Brazil
  • Yasmin Nasser 
    Clinical Assistant Professor
  • Nathan Peters
    Associate Professor
  • Donna Slater
    Associate Professor
  • Nathalie Vergnolle  
    Director of l’Institut de Recherche en Santé Digestive Inserm U1220 Inra U1416, France
  • Pierre-Yves von der Weid 
  • John Wallace  
    Chief Scientific Officer, Antibe Therapeutics Inc.