University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

The Snyder Team

Executive Council Members

Dr. Paul Kubes 


Dr. John Conly


Dr. Chip Doig 

Dept. of Critical Care Medicine

Dr. Kamala Patel 

Co-Director - Infrastructure & Space

Dr. David Proud 

Airways Inflammation Research Group

Dr. Chris Mody 

Dept. Head of Microbiology, Immunology and Infectious Diseases

Dr. Pere Santamaria 

JMDRC & associate complications of diabetes (Transplantation)

Dr. George Chaconas 

JMDRC & associate complications of diabetes (Transplantation)

Dr. Mark Swain 

Div. of Gastroenterology

Dr. Simon Hirota

Inflammation Research Group

Dr. Tao Dong 

Faculty of Veterinary Medicine

Dr. Wallace McNaughton 

Dept. Head of Physiology and Pharmacology

Dr. Richard Leigh 

Division Chief, Respiratory Medicine

Communications & Operations

  • Caitlyn MacDonald, Communications Advisor
  • Elizabeth Saquibal, Operations Coordinator
  • Rachael Shemeliuk, Senior Administrative Assistant

Finance Committee

  • Dr. John Conly, Chair
  • Dr. Pierre-Yves von der Weid
  • Dr. Anwar Haq
  • Dr. Anthony Schryvers
  • Dr. Harvey Rabin
  • Dr. Marc Swain

Infrastructure Committee

  • Dr. Kamala Patel, Chair
  • Dr. Anwar Haq
  • Dr. George Chaconas
  • Dr. John Conly
  • Dr. Wallace MacNaughton
  • Dr. Simon Hirota
  • Dr. David Proud
  • Dr. Pere Santamaria

The Calvin, Phoebe and Joan Snyder Institute for Chronic Diseases was named in 2008 in honour of Joan Snyder and her parents, who she credits for teaching her the value of philanthropy. It is a group of more than 104 clinicians, clinician-scientists and basic scientists who are impacting and changing the lives of people suffering from chronic diseases, including sepsis, MRSA, cystic fibrosis, type-1 diabetes, inflammatory bowel disease, and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. For more information on the Snyder Institute for Chronic Diseases, please visit us at or follow us on Twitter @SnyderInstitute.